Chapter one-entry 2

Posted: August 2, 2012 in fiction, YA, YA novels, YA paranormal romance
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The episodes never last long-a minute or two, so when I gained control of my faculties, I crawled to my feet, groaning as I shook the disconnect and disorientation from my head. I brushed the hot, course sand out of my freshly bleeding wounds and sighed at the painful reality that I was too hurt to make it back to the house. I would have to humble myself and call my brother, David. I pulled my iPhone out of my arm band and called as I began limping my way down the road.

“Lieutenant Wheeler,” David answered casually after several rings.

“Hey, can you come get me?” I asked.

He laughed. “Lost again, Kat?”

I ignored his attempt to humor himself at my expense. “I’m out by the training grounds.” I grimaced as I told him, knowing that my dad, Master Gunnery Sergeant Wheeler, explicitly banned me from any combat training site.

He sighed, obviously annoyed. “I’ll be there in a minute.” Then he hung up the phone.

I glanced down at my watch to check the time and when I did, sweat rolled from my brow, burning the small cut below my eye.

The intense Mojave Desert inferno and the meager hope of acquiring some degree of color in my skin inspired me to dress light. Though all I wore was a sports bra and bike shorts, it did little to minimize the possibility of spontaneous combustion. It did however, leave plenty of surface area to cover with random patches of raspberries from my fall.

Perpetual sun and a stunning four inches of annual rain were all Twentynine Palms, A.K.A. ‘The Stumps’ could offer me-near perfection for the arthritis sufferer or perhaps the aspiring rock gardener. If it wasn’t for the wind blown sand coating me like a sugar cookie, this wretched hole would have no redeeming quality at all.

Comments
  1. Wow I’m intrigued and a bit confused! Looking forward to the next update! Thanks for the comment on my story, it totally made my day! I’m trying to figure out what your story is about. Can you give a brief description?

    • zoechance says:

      I will be posting 3-4 updates a day on this blog so I look forward to your input. I will also be incorporating character bio’s at some point. Summary: After Kat’s father is killed in Afghanistan, custody is given to close friends of her father’s. She feels drawn to their exquisitely beautiful son, whom she learns is unequivocally more than human.

  2. jordannelson says:

    thats so cool cant wait to read the rest!!!!!

Leave a Reply

