Chapter one-entry 3

Posted: August 3, 2012 in fiction, YA, YA novels, YA paranormal romance
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I didn’t have to walk far. A thunderous cloud of dust rolled down the road trailing a convoy of tanks and Hummers coming from behind me. His unit no doubt was headed back from training. I hoped the heat outside concealed the flush of embarrassment raging over my cheeks and supposed it would have been too much to ask for him to come alone. A tank and then another, and then a couple of Hummer rolled past-one of the passengers banging on his door and hollering something unintelligible as he flew by. Finally, at the end of the convoy David honked the horn and slid his Hummer to a stop. I opened the door and climbed in.

With tightly knitted brows, David took an appraising, suspicious glance over my new body art.

“What the hell, Kat?”

“It’s fine, just drive,” I grumbled.

David shook his head and flipped a ’U’. “Dad’s gonna be pissed when he hears that you were out here,” he informed.

I flinched at the thought of the butt chewing I would receive if he did in fact hear about my escapades. I smiled pleadingly at David. “This is the point where you promise not to tell.”

“What excuse are you going to use this time, you used the sidewalk as a slip-n-slide? Cause he’s not gonna buy you falling in the shower again,” he mocked, quickly scanning me over again.

I looked out the passenger window to roll my eyes at him. He was right of course, I would have to either be really creative or tell him the truth-which wasn’t a viable option.

“Why don’t you just tell him the headaches are back, get medication and call it good?”

I wished that it was that easy. I was thirteen the last time the headaches started and the first time I told my dad about the visions that have been accompanying them since I was eight. He stressed out for weeks, took me to a neurologist for CAT scans and then wouldn’t let me out of his sight for a month. No way could I stress him out like that just before he left. Besides, something else already had him tied in knots.

Leave a Reply

