When he took my hand, a tearing sensation shot up my arm stopping shy of my neck.  It was the a less intense version of the feeling I got just before having a vision.  His eyes grew as wild as mine.

“I’m sorry,” he muttered, immediately placing his hands in his pockets.  “I’m Alex and am very pleased to meet you.”

His voice was still warm, but his speech, strangely formal.  His smile faded slightly when I offered nothing in return.

“And you are Katherine,” he reminded me, as I stood staring at him like an idiot.  “No,” I corrected.  “Just Kat, only my dad calls me Katherine.”

“Well Kat, my family is planning on taking the boat out this afternoon. We would be pleased if you joined us.” An instant lump formed in my throat as the color seeped from my skin.

“Oh…a boat,” scouring for any way to ditch this plan, “and a large body of water. Um, that’s not the best combination for me.”  Hoping he wouldn’t require further elaboration.

“That’s generally where boats go, and it’s perfectly safe, my dad will be driving,” he assured.

I smiled attempting to mask the impending terror.  “Sounds fun.  Can’t wait,” I lied.

“Wonderful,” he said.

He was far more enthusiastic than I hoped.

I was disappointed that the uneventful day I had planned for myself, now had a large intrusive wrench thrown in it.  I wanted to go to my room to pout and panic but, Alex followed behind me as I migrated towards the guest room.  He walked only a few steps behind, with his hands still in his pockets.

“Have you had breakfast?”  He asked.  I knew I was forgetting something.  He clearly wasn’t going to let me be, so I thought I could take advantage of the opportunity.  I wanted him to tell me why he was so angry when we first met.  Not that I didn’t believe Evie but, the way she said ‘he wasn’t expecting you,’ made me curious as to who he was expecting.

Leave a Reply

