I pointed to my foot.  “I fell off the tube and got stuck in the net for a second.  Just a little burn from the rope,” I said, meeting Alex’s eyes.

“Damn fisherman, always dumping their trash out here,” she muttered angrily.

The officer said I would be fine, but insisted I get checked out by a doctor.

“You folks can follow us to the Harbor Master’s office.  We have a volunteer doc on duty today.  He can check her out, and if you want to file a report, you can do it there when you’re done,” she said.

Against Constance’s wish that Miles carry me, he spared my ego and let me walk to the harbor office.  The doctor was already with another patient when we got there and by the looks of it, it was one of the Jet Ski drivers.  The heavy-set man was sitting on the bed as the doctor finished bandaging his wrist.  He turned his head and stared anxiously.

“I’m so sorry, are you ok?”

“It’s just a little cut.  I probably bit my own lip,” insisting that I was fine as I took a seat on the open bed.  “Besides, it looks like you got the worst of it.”

Alex stormed through the doorway behind us, “Not yet he hasn’t,” his voice and eyes filled with threat.

“Alex, I’m fine, really.”  Surprised that he heard me from outside.

He moved in closer to me, his whisper barely audible.  “He could have killed you.”  Then he stood rigidly upright, returning his furious gaze to the driver.  “You could have killed her!”  He barked ferociously.  Miles quickly stepped in front of him placing a hand on his shoulder to calm him, “But he didn’t,” Miles reminded him.  They held eye contact for several tense seconds, and I wondered what was exchanged during their silent conversation.  But without a word or even a disapproving sigh, Alex moved his softened gaze towards me and left.

I got up to follow him but saw Miles silently shake his head a definitive no.  I needed to know if what I saw was just another one of my hallucinations, but I was pretty sure I already knew the answer.  I was certain he would pull a Houdini by the time I returned to the house.

Comments
  1. dollyperry says:

    quick thought: adding “from the other room,” or something else to the end of “Surprised that he even heard me.” might make it flow a little more smoothly. I know you said he comes through the doors, but it kind of sounded to me like he was already walking towards her. Maybe he was? Or even putting “I was…” at the beginning.
    It doesn’t have to be one of my suggestions (of course!), but I did hesitate when I read that line.
    Oh, and by the way, I love how the story is developing!

    • zoechance says:

      Ok…I see what you’re saying. And I’m stoked that you like how it’s playing out so far. This is my second edit of the book and have made tons of changes. It needs tons more but it’s coming along. I always enjoy reading your thoughts on the story but totally understand the concept of crazy college hours-been there and glad to be done. Thanks by the way for watching the details. 🙂

Leave a Reply

