The doctor turned my head back to face him with his finger and thumb under my chin.  His eyes were a welcoming, hazel nut brown that complimented his olive complexion.  The grey that peppered his black hair suggested that he was possibly in his mid to late forties-older than Miles.

When he was done, he smiled warmly, “Alright, just take it easy for the next couple of days, and try to stay out of nets.”

“Thanks, I’ll do that,” I replied, not recalling that I mentioned the net.

His friendly tone vanished as he spoke to Miles.  “You know the drill, just keep an eye on her over the next twenty-four hours for signs of a concussion,” then he turned his attention towards me, “other than that, take an Aspirin as needed for the pain.”

I nodded my head as I stood.  As Miles was walking me out I turned back to the doctor.  “Tell your son thanks for me.”

The doctor’s smile was filled with concern as he replied.  “I will.  You be careful.”  I couldn’t help but feel that there was something more to that message.

Alex was leaning against the open driver’s side door waiting for us.  I sighed, relieved that I still had a chance to talk to him.  I climbed into the back seat of the Sedan and buckled myself in, guessing he took Constance back to the house in the boat.

Meeting Miles’s glance in the rear view mirror.  “So, doctor Delgado seems nice,” I said as he put the car in gear.

“Yes, he’s a good man.” He said this without enthusiasm or further elaboration.  The doctor’s cold interaction with Miles implied that the feeling was not mutual.

I sat silent the rest of the way to the house, thinking of how best to ask Alex about what I saw.  Nothing logical, or even remotely intelligent-sounding came to mind.

The antique lamps that lit the road to the house were just coming to life as Miles pulled into the circle drive.   Alex got out of the car first, swiftly walking over to open the door for me.  I was still amazed by how fluid each of his movements were. I thanked him and asked, “Can we talk alone for a minute?”

Miles gave us both a quick glance and retreated to the house.

Leave a Reply

