“I wasn’t planning on telling anyone, if that’s what you’re worried about,” I muttered, sitting back down on the bench.  Alex sat across from me, leaving yet another calculated span between us.  We sat silent for several beats while he anxiously twisted and looped a piece of red rope.

“What worries me most,” he started.  “Is that I’ll never again see you as you are now.”

I shook my head, not knowing how to reply.  Not knowing what he meant.

His voice small and somber now.  “Unknowing.  Not jaded by certain truths.”

His eyes grew sad as the weight of whatever truths he was referring to, took their toll.  My heart broke for him and wished I could somehow relieve his burden.  I desperately wanted to reach out and touch him, comfort him, but again, I refrained.

A loud cry of a seagull snapped us both out of the moment as it landed on the dock behind us.

“We have to go,” Alex said as he stood hurriedly.  “If I bring you home late Constance will be livid.”

Stupid bird.  Wait…Constance?  Where the heck did that come from?

He lifted the lid to the bench he was sitting on and pulled from it, a sleek black helmet and handed it to me, then helped me on to the dock.  That can’t be good.

I followed Alex to the parking lot, struggling to keep his pace.  Parked between two rusted out junkers, sat a black and grey Ducati motorcycle-it’s curves so sleek, it could have been a miniature space ship.  Yup.  Not good.

“Put the helmet on,” he said, as he mounted the bike.

Fear snuck into my voice.  “I’ve never been on a motorcycle.”

“Just hang on, I’ll do the rest.”

I reluctantly climbed on back, noticing he didn’t have a helmet of his own to wear.

“What, no helmet?”  I asked, only partially sarcastic.

He shook his head and laughed.  Possibly being able to dissolve into water didn’t necessarily mean he was invincible-although the thought had occurred to me.

Leave a Reply

