The female waitress that came to take our order appeared just as beguiled by the Hamlin’s as I had the first time I laid eyes on them.  She didn’t stand a chance.

The tall, slender woman nearly hyperventilated as she knelt next to Alex while taking his order.  She was very attractive.  I probably would have thought she was prettier, if her over-inviting smile was aimed at anyone other than him.

It was completely unlike me, and I don’t know what came over me, but as she was reaching to put her hand on his arm, I cleared my throat loudly and smiled at her.

It was evident by her expression that she hadn’t even considered the possibility of me and Alex being together.  Why would she?  He wasn’t mine.  Alex would never be mine, but something about the way she looked at him made me…profoundly jealous.  The woman returned an uneasy smile and left with our orders.  My whole face lit on fire when Evie snickered and winked at me.  I couldn’t bring myself to look at Alex.  He was probably more embarrassed than I was.  Way to be subtle, Kat, I scolded myself.

Casual conversation continued back and forth across the table, but the incident in the bathroom this evening remained at the forefront of my mind.  While Evie was talking to Miles and Constance, I leaned towards Alex and whispered, “Do I even want to know what you were doing in my bathroom?”  I asked.  He looked straight forward and took a deep breath in.  Tight ripples of his jaw muscles pulsed as he clenched his teeth, like he was angry with me.  Why was he mad?  I was the one that should be angry.

We were briefly interrupted by our waitress and another young woman arriving with our meals.  Alex was last to be served.  The waitress set his plate in front of him, standing closer than I thought was necessary, and the other woman filled his water glass.  Neither of women, took their hungry eyes off of him, even as he turned his glorious face to meet mine.  His dazzling eyes were tight as he started to lean towards me.

“Was everything prepared to your liking?” the waitress asked, placing herself uncomfortably close between us.  “Is there anything else I can bring you?”  I didn’t miss that her untimely interruption was intentional, or that her queries were solely directed at Alex.

“Everything looks wonderful, thank you,” he replied, not taking his eyes off of me.  This seemed to leave her dissatisfied, which pleased me immensely.

As soon as she walked away, Alex leaned in again.  “This matter is not up for discussion.”  His tone was condescending and dismissive, like I was some errant child needing to be reminded of her place.  I saw red, I was so angry.  And until then, I hadn’t solidified a plan.

Leave a Reply

